The Great Flower Caper – Act I

Bridgette used to live here in New York.  We met in 3rd grade and we were pretty much inseparable until we graduated from high school. 

For those years we were together so much that our names were intertwined in a sing-song way “AliciaandBridgette” whenever anyone was speaking of us or to us.  Brit is the nickname I gave her pretty early on. 

Here are a few things you should know about Brit:

  • She is not your average girl.  That is the coolest thing about her.
  • She is super intelligent, but very down to earth.
  • She trains alligators.  She travels the country with a big van of reptiles in tow. 
  • She is single-handedly one of the most fun, good-hearted, beautiful people I have ever met in my life. 

On the day she is due to arrive, I leave my boys at camp while I go to Albany Airport to pick her up.  Hugs all around.  At the beginning of each trip I am ecstatically happy to see her, but sad I will be back here in only a matter of days to drop her back off.

We get in the car – camp bound.  Or so I think.  She looks me in the eye and says, “I really want some of my grandmother’s lilies.  Hey, want to go back to where I used to live and dig up a few of my grandmother’s lilies?” 

Sure I do. 

All at once I started imagining what our mug shots would look like:

 

I have lived far too long with a clean criminal record – let’s go.

Picture modification courtesy of http://paulporto.com/.

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind, Summer vacation

4 responses to “The Great Flower Caper – Act I

  1. Melissa

    Awwww, c’mon, ya can’t stop there! I do hope that perhaps you’ll find time to post tomorrow…until the next time, I will patiently wait. Oh the lilies. We actually drove past Bridgette’s house the day we took our kids on the memory lane tour to Curry Freeze (no longer owned by Dan. Funny thing is that Jerry wanted to take a pic and send it to Brit. I said no it will make her sad…the trees gone and all. Anyway, can’t wait for the continuation…

Leave a comment