Elated student on summer vacation!!

What exactly happens when you have set up a blog intended to chronicle your life as an adult student and then summer vacation rolls around?  I guess you are about to find out! 

I can’t really blog about school when I am not there.  I could I suppose.  But I am a student – a REAL student who is deliriously happy and relieved to have the semester behind me.  So as a REAL student, I am going to enjoy a REAL break from blogging about school for the whole month of July.  I have big things to do and none of them involve school.  Here are some of the things on my checklist:  Catch fireflies in a mayonnaise jar, have at least 2 bon fires per week, teach my son how to swim, reach out to 3 of my most neglected friends and catch up, read a half a dozen new books and To Kill a Mockingbird  again, paint, write, lay in the hammock with my boys and read Calvin and Hobbes books, play bocce on Sand Island, make some wine, drink some wine, make sand castles, blow bubbles, catch frogs, have the cheeseburgers over for dinner, take a lazy river ride, go to Lake George on my birthday, stargaze on the dock, watch fireworks while floating, count shooting stars during a meteor storm… well I think you get the idea.

Just like every other student, I am taking a break from thinking about school.  Come join me.  For the next few weeks I will be blogging about whatever strikes my fancy. I hope that you will humor me on my random insane musings. 

What great things do YOU have on your summer to do list?  I would love to hear about them.

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

4 responses to “Elated student on summer vacation!!

  1. Melissa

    I am very excited to read some random bloggings from you. I always enjoy how you immerse the reader smack dab in your experience. I’d like to request pictures in the blogs…I do love that! Especially the jar of fireflies. We were out quite late last night and enjoyed the dozens of fireflies dancing around. Tonight we will even break out the telescope. Anyhow…you have the perfect summer list!
    My summer list, or should I say my children’s summer list includes a visit to the glow-in-the-dark mini golf joint, go karts, Control Tower for ice cream (I don’t dare deny them that request) and a weekend getaway to Boston. We shall see…

  2. Thank you for your suggestions! I will definately try to include more pictures. Keep me posted about your summer fun too. I can’t wait to hear who wins on the Boston trip!

  3. Ride some roller coasters!

Leave a Reply

