The Magic Box

I have this box the loft of my camp.  It is a trunk, really.  It is about 7 ½ years old and it has been locked shut for almost that long.  No one knows where the key is,  and no one knows what is inside. 

I have tried not to think about that box for the past 7 years and I must say I have been quite successful.  Until a little beautiful blue-eyed boy happened upon it and couldn’t resist the mystery.  He was also motivated by the fact that he had a use for this chest and needed the lock opened and the contents removed.  He is in a pirate phase and this “treasure chest” fits right into some scheme that he has cooking in his world of make believe. 

He has bugged me for more than a week to open it.  Today I finally acquiesced. 

This trunk belonged to my Poppy, my paternal grandfather.  He was quite sick and in a nursing home for the last couple of years of his life.  His mental faculties were quite well considering he was confined to a wheelchair and had suffered 9 consecutive strokes.  The staff in the nursing home would take a liking to his belongings and often they would turn up missing.  He requested a locking storage unit and I bought him this trunk on his last Christmas.  That is probably how I ended up with it again, but I simply don’t remember. 

My husband and my son just took the trunk to a neighbor’s house since he had the tools to cut that lock.  In the woods up here at camp, I heard the snap of the lock echo against the trees.  That was all it took for the tears to start.

I just realized as I was typing this that I realized that today marks the 7th anniversary of his death.  The universe works in strange ways. 

Here I sit, waiting with dread to sift through the contents of that chest. 

Top image taken from:  http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3180/2734790279_f616a8f466.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.flickr.com/photos/lamaquinaderetratar/2734790279/&usg=__KfbvM1qn2XypJKDv6hM4PUH6CqE=&h=376&w=500&sz=110&hl=en&start=9&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=D8zuw0QSu0cfWM:&tbnh=98&tbnw=130&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dthe%2Bmagic%2Bbox%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26tbs%3Disch:1

3 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind, Summer vacation

3 responses to “The Magic Box

  1. Dierdre Petee

    Although the box clearly is symbolic of much more than worldly treasures to you, and I have to admit I DID tear up a bit when I first read this, I still think you’ve kept us in suspense long enough! What was in the box?

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review | No Adult Left Behind

Leave a comment