Just You and I

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That song is an oldie but goodie.  It was old in 1996, when I married my husband.  That was our wedding song and I sure do love it. 

I would walk through fire for my man.  No one is going to utter a foul syllable against him without having a quarrel with me.  It was my best day when I met him and I am blessed to have him in my life.   I have spent more days with him than I have without him. 

Our relationship is real.  We work hard at it.  

We have been together for many years. We have a family and a home together.  It is warm, familiar and cozy and it takes tender loving care to keep it whole.

We met in high school.  We married some years later in 1996.  Our wedding video is on VHS.  You know, the big tapes you can play on a VCR.  Google it if you don’t know what it is, you will find VHS right next to 8 track tapes and the invention of the wheel. 

We watched our wedding video the other day.  Recapturing that moment was really amazing.  Some of the friends in my wedding party I never see anymore.  These were the people that I never thought I would be without.  I haven’t seen most of those people in years and years. 

However, I saw my handsome husband.  I saw that smile.  I fell in love all over again.

That is where the story began.  When I sang Just you and I to him on the dance floor of Chaucer’s in July of 1996, I felt like there wasn’t another soul in the room.  That was the best wedding I have ever been to.  When I see that video, I remember who we were and who we were to become. 

In all ways that count we are the same then as we are today and I am so proud of that. 

We’ll be alright… just you and I.

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind, Summer vacation

4 responses to “Just You and I

  1. melissa

    Beautiful…touching…sincere…true love…there’s nothing stronger or better. So blessed are you two to maintain it! So blessed are we to see it.

  2. Wendy

    I think of you guys every time I hear that song. Take no offense that it’s not heard on a regular basis however. Right now I am thinking about that scrapbook you put together for Andy. You poured you heart into that and every other aspect of your relationship. I know you will continue to have many happy years together.

Leave a comment