Quirks and Pet Peeves

I just found a cooler in my basement with water in it – from last year.  I was really annoyed.  I realized that there are a few things that annoy me.  I’ve got some pet peeves and quirks and I thought I would spread the cheer and share them with you.

  • I don’t clean out coolers as promptly as I should.  I only screw my future self.  It doesn’t matter if I am the one who eventually cleans it out or not.  Even if my husband has to clean it out, he complains about the fact that I left it dirty so I have still managed to screw myself. 
  • I buy watermelons forgetting the fact that I never develop a desire to carve and serve them. 
  • I throw receipts away.  Every single one of them.  Doesn’t matter if I need them.  Nope – doesn’t matter.
  • I can only buy multiple grocery items in even numbers.  Meaning if I need more than one of something, I will NEVER buy three.  My head would just explode. 
  • Bitchy people annoy me.  Sometimes I bitch about them. 
  • I often fail to see the comedic irony of some of these “quirks” of mine. 
  • My cure for a bad day is Hershey’s special dark washed down with a glass of Svanska Red and a long distance telephone call to my BFF.
  • I wear mismatched socks and I like it. 
  • Being told what to do makes me defiant.

  • I refuse to develop self restraint when patronizing an ice cream parlor.  I have love handles now.  I kind of like them.  
  • If I lose a button on a shirt, I may as well throw it away.  I would rather walk on hot coals than take out a needle and thread.
  • When I am nervous I bite the heck out of my nails. 
  • I still harbor a fear that doing so will create a lump of nails in my throat like my aunt told me once.  Darn her. 
  • I am annoyed that I lack the financial capacity to wear an item once and then give it to good will.  If I were able to do that, I could give my washer and dryer to good will too. 
  • I will not promise to behave if you cross my family.  If you mess with one of us, you mess with all of us. 
  • I hate litter and I judge anyone who litters.
  • The Blair Witch frightens the heck right out of me.  If I ever see some voodoo creation hanging from a tree in the woods, I will have to be put in a rubber room.
  • I am blessed to know the magic recipe for ice and how to replace a toilet paper roll.  This knowledge makes me quite intolerant of those who do not possess it.
  • I am ok that I am a freak with faults. 

So enough about me – how about YOU? 

Calvin and Hobbes Image taken from:  http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://treesflowersbirds.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/calvin_resolutions.jpg&imgrefurl=http://newvoicesforresearch.blogspot.com/2010_01_01_archive.html&usg=__g4lXRejN5D8odi0R6tnxkzy2oGM=&h=305&w=400&sz=37&hl=en&start=65&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=j_5uNVlISz_yvM:&tbnh=95&tbnw=124&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dcalvin%2Band%2Bhobbes%2Bpicks%2Bup%2Btrash%26start%3D60%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26ndsp%3D20%26tbs%3Disch:1

10 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind, Summer vacation

10 responses to “Quirks and Pet Peeves

  1. Shannon Diamond

    I see why we are sisters 🙂

  2. Valerie

    I know the magic recipe for ice too!!! Not many do though….. =)

  3. Gina

    I cracked up laughing… there are so many on there that I can relate to. You missed some of mine though.

    I have rules for everything.

    1. Never let food touch on a plate. At Thanksgiving I have separate plates for pretty much everything!

    2.When I’m running, anyone is welcome to come, but don’t talk to me and don’t try to make me run faster than I want to. I’m not a running freak, I just run because I like to. Come on people,I’m not looking to shave seconds off my 15 minute mile and I surely don’t want to puke and “run it out” at the end. Leave me alone!

    3. Don’t touch me if you have sticky hands. I hate sticky hands. And worse if you smell like ketchup or mayo. God help you!

    4. I like to be quiet in the car. No music.

    5. People who slurp should be on an island by themselves.

    Those are probably the top ones, however I always reserve the right to create more rules if necessary.

    • These are all GREAT!! Thanks for sharing. I don’t run unless I am being chased, so I couldn’t relate to that one, but I really could relate to no food touching each other on the plate. My absolute favorite is the quiet car – I am the same way, but I get overruled when there are others in the car with me. Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Dierdre

    Love those peeves and quirks from all of you! I have to admit, I, like Calvin, am absolutely perfect. I have no peeves or quirks, unless you count the fact that I actually truly believe I’m perfect is a quirk! No? Hmmm… guess that settles it then, I AM perfect! : )

    PS: If you believe that, you are on my pet peeve list!

  5. You are a nut – a lovable nut Dierdre!

  6. Melissa

    This is the most hysterical and fun blog EVER!!!! There are many “quirks” I have and I see some have been passed on to my kids. I do try to embrace others’ pet peeves and quirks. I will share with you all that I like a neat silverware drawer. Short forks are in a different spot than long forks and so on. But now don’t look too hard at the corners of my kitchen floor – you will NOT be able to eat from there. Quirky indeed! Thanks for the smiles and laughs!!!!

Leave a Reply

