2010 in review

Happy New Year to each of you!  Ahhh… a fresh start is so invigorating.  I believe that humans thrive because of the celebration of a new year.  It is a great way to be new again.  Even though arguably, nothing is different from the day before, something switches in my mind and I am suddenly fresh with energy, inspiration and possibilities.  A new year white washes over anything unpleasant in the same way that freshly fallen snow creates a marvelous beauty.

It is fun to plan and dream of what will fill this white canvas of year 2011. 

I have more of a “To Do” list for 2011 and less of a resolution list.  While I am not a resolutions kind of girl, I am a big believer in having goals.  Naturally, I want to create world peace, and eat more carrot sticks in the oh so realistic endeavor of being as skinny as a Victoria secret model, but this list below falls a lot more in line with my personality.

  • Get together more with people I love for no reason at all.
  • Work hard at things I absolutely love.
  • Making more time to sit on the carpet inventing imaginative creations with Legos and a beautiful blue-eyed boy.
  • Read some really good books.  Like the kinds that you wish your life would stop so you could just go back to reading.  The kind that you miss the characters after the book has ended. Know any like that?  I am all up for suggestions.
  • Break up the everyday routine by drinking wine with meals and toasting to the one I love.

Cliché?  Oh yes, but so wonderful.

I am thinking of what will become of my blog for 2011.  As I was pondering that subject, WordPress sent me a retroactive look at my blog in 2010.  It was fun to look back and I hope you enjoy it too. 

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

About 3 million people visit the Taj Mahal every year. This blog was viewed about 29,000 times in 2010. If it were the Taj Mahal, it would take about 4 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 109 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 167 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 97mb. That’s about 3 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was August 28th with 634 views. The most popular post that day was Illegal Nocturnal Activities.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were blogsurfer.usfacebook.com, and alicialegg.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for magic box, the magic box, box magic and kindergarten.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Illegal Nocturnal Activities August 2010
2 comments

2

The Magic Box July 2010
2 comments

3

Quite a week June 2010
2 comments

4

Social Media – Love it? Hate it? Inquiring minds want to know May 2010
12 comments

5

Who ever heard of a stomach flu in July! July 2010
2 comments

9 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

9 responses to “2010 in review

  1. Those are some pretty impressive numbers! Keep up the great work.

    And a good call on the Legos resolution. Legos rock.

    Happy New Year!

    • Legos do rock! Thanks for YOUR encouragement. It helps. Truly.

    • Wade, I have noticed that your list of resolutions is a lot more substantial and quantitative than mine. Mine involve Lego’s and wine and yours involve maintaining a lofty GPA and a healthy weight. I find the contrast quite amusing. 🙂

      • Yeah, but don’t sell yourself short. My resolutions are focused on me. Your Lego resolution is focused on your son. Kudos for that.

        Personally, I find it amusing that your fifth most-viewed post of 2010 was about the flu. But then guys like me are easily amused.

  2. Uncle Al

    Hi Alicia,
    Thanks for the invite to your blog. I’ll enjoy reading it. Have you ever read any John Irving? He’s a favorite author of me and Laura and one of his books we like best is A Prayer for Owen Meany, or Cider House Rules. I’m sure you’d enjoy them.
    By the way, most Victoria’s Secret models are TOO skinny. You’re perfect just the way you are!
    Love, Uncle Al

    • Thanks Uncle Al! You are so sweet. I absolutely love good book recommendations. I will check those out. I have a running list of books I’d like to read and your recommendations made the list. It is a very elite list. 😛

  3. I find it interesting that 80% of the most popular blogs are non school related. That must be a sign that I am not very good at writing about my school activities, even though that is the whole premise of my blog! 🙂

    • Uncle Al

      Hope you enjoy the books now that I stuck my neck out and recommended them! I think the type of blogs people read says more about the readers than the writers. Most people are to lazy to read anything that actually makes them think! Keep up the good work Alicia 🙂

Leave a Reply

