A sure fire way to win a Pulitzer Prize

In our journalism class, our professor asked an ethical question:

If you were a journalist and saw a man set himself on fire, would you help him or would you record the story?

WHAT?!!  Is this even a question?

Apparently it is.  Some journalists will capture a story without helping a victim and do so without the slightest regret.  Based on the discussion that ensued after the question was posed, it seems that this practice is quite common.  The examples of these horrific acts were numerous.

Are these people human?  Is this what it has come to?  If I want to be successful journalist and win a prestigious award, I would not interfere with a person who needs immediate help.  I would stand by, record the suffering, watch the death while cold blood pumps through my heart in my empty tin chest just so I can further my career. 

There should be a human cruelty law against this practice.  It’s sickening.

2 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

2 responses to “A sure fire way to win a Pulitzer Prize

  1. I was taken aback, too.

    If journalism is this supposed search for “truth,” then shouldn’t journalists be willing to help out a fellow human being? After all, isn’t it true that we are all human and in this together?

    I was so disgusted over that conversation in class. Yet, at the same time I was happy to see that most of our classmates were just as horrified at the topic.

    • I was relieved too. I think of your example of the car accident. What would have happened if you, your boys and your wife were all trapped and a journalist appeared and elected not to help you.

Leave a Reply

