The walk of an angry, premenstrual psychopath

Last week I became a published journalist!  Woot, woot!  An article I wrote ended up on the Times Union website.  Very exciting.  It was no easy task.

A story I had read really got me irritated.  Here is the article. It seems that my fellow Saint Rose students are suspected of repeatedly damaging school property to keep a shortcut intact.

I was annoyed that my fellow classmates would destruct property just so they could create a short cut.  The more I thought of it, it just didn’t seem right.  There just had to be more to it.

Then I read the sentence where the student said that the short cut saved her a “solo walk down Partridge” street.  Hmmm…

I go to school at night when it is dark.  I park right next to the school.  I pump myself up before I get out of the car the way that Rocky Balboa does before a fight.  I listen to work-out music to psyche myself up for the well-lit walk of oh about 50 feet into the building.  When I get out, I put my angry face on, shoulders back and walk into class like an angry, premenstrual psychopath.  This is my way to ward off any potential predators.  I stare down strangers with a psychotic gaze that dares them to mess with me.

If I had to take an evening stroll longer than my 50 foot maximum I would probably drop out of school.

So this fence cutting sport had me intrigued and I decided to scratch a little deeper.

The roads around our campus have had a history of crime.  I wondered if anyone was using this shortcut as a way to get on to school grounds as quickly as possible and to avoid a walk on the street.

Seems I was right.  That is what motivated me to write this article.  Here is the article.

I wonder if the students will take action and what the school will do in response.  It would make for a great follow-up story.

What do you think?  Who is being irresponsible here, the students or the school?

Leave a comment

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

Leave a Reply

