Song of the Crickets

I heard the sound of a lonely cricket last night.  Soon this lonely cricket will be one of a chorus.  It is a beautiful sound, but I equate the song of the crickets to bag pipes – beautiful but a sad reminder of numbered days.  That is because the crickets appear in upstate New York as a reminder to that the warm, easy summer days are gradually coming to an end. 

One month from today my family will be fully engaged in school activities. September introduces crisp air.  The nights will be cooler as the hint of autumn color begins to pepper the trees.  Autumn is breathtakingly gorgeous here and I love it.  However I am not ready for the summer to end.  I dislike any reminder that it is fast approaching a conclusion.  I feel as though it just began.

Soon my blog will be geared back to my scholastic diary.  

Today, I am going to focus on the days of summer that are left for me to enjoy.  I’ll focus on the flutter of the hummingbirds outside of my door, enjoy the lush greenery of the forest and admire the dance of the sun glittering off of the water. 

What do you to do make your summer seem longer?

Image taken from: http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&source=imghp&q=end+of+summer&gbv=2&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind, Summer vacation

4 responses to “Song of the Crickets

  1. Melissa

    I am trying so hard to avoid all the comments about how school is right aroind the corner. I am fighting it. I look at it as we STILL have a month of bliss with the kids! To make the summer last longer, I will just keep having fun and enjoying each day. I will rebel and not shop for school clothes until I absolutely have to. I will look at the glass still half full!!!!!

  2. Vinny

    To make our summer last longer we live in Florida 🙂

    Come down and hear the frog and toad song when the crispness of the air becomes a bite. Fear not, we’ll provide visual proof throughout the winter months.

Leave a comment