The drop out temptation

I won’t be in a big hurry to attend another summer semester any time soon.  Summer is alluring because you can knock out a bunch of credits quickly and make great headway on your path to a degree in a blink of an eye.  For me, this one was almost a disaster.  Halfway through the semester, I found comic relief in the fact that I was dangerously close to blowing it and I am the one who wrote a book to advise and motivate adults to go back to college. 

But that is real.  That is the real challenge of college.  Some semesters and some days are a struggle.  It is just like a job, a marriage or anything that brings joy and is worth having – there are challenges. 

The trouble with college is that dropping out is sometimes so seductive.  About halfway through the semester, I toyed with the idea.  The semester is only 6 weeks in the summer session so I would have dropped the classes with only three weeks to go.  No refund. 

The semester is hardly over for me.  I still have a project that I have to complete in the fall.  The thought of that looming over my head haunts me a bit.  It would have been worse if I dropped completely. 

I got by.   Woody Allen said that 90% of success is just showing up.

6 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

6 responses to “The drop out temptation

  1. Tina

    Don’t think of how much you have left to go, but rather how much you’ve accomplished so far. You have essentially two semesters down, less than that to go, right? Also, while you may think you only “got by”, remember that you and your book were featured on the news during this semester. That’s an aspiration turned reality this semester. And don’t feel down that thoughts of dropping out entered your mind… Motivators are peope too…even motivators need to be motivated at times. Keep trying to inspire.

  2. Dierdre Petee

    Anything worth having is worth working for! I’m proud of you for sticking with it despite the lure of the lake and the other “fun” stuff you have going on!

    • Dierdre, you are absolutely right. Not every day can be good. Like Ellen said in Nemo – “Just keep swimming.”. It is a good lesson to just keep on and the end will be here before I know it.

  3. Summer semesters really are the hardest–sometimes taking a difficult class in the summer can pay off because they’re watered down and a little easier, but sometimes they can kill you if the professor decides to cram it all in there. Just keep working away at it. The bonus for summer is that the finals date is always right around the corner. No 16 weeks to drag you down! 😉

    • Caitlin,

      Thank you for your kind reply. I am thankful it is over! After a summer rest, I will be all ready to start again. I figure if I made it through this semester, I can make it through anything! 🙂

Leave a Reply

