Zappos!

Before a month ago, I must admit that I had never heard of this company.  Yet we keep discussing this company in my class because Joel Postman gives this company kudos for progressive use of social media.  My fearless professor contacted Zappos to ask if they would speak to our class regarding their corporate culture and use of social media.  They immediately accepted!  Yesterday, Thomas Knoll from Zappos Skyped into our class to meet with us.  He was so honest and cool that our whole class found him incredibly likeable.  He spoke with us despite being hit by Nerf darts throughout the call. 

Here is what I have learned:

  • Zappos sells shoes.
  • Next to Google, this seems like the 2nd coolest place to work.  I want to work there.  I already own my own Nerf gun, so I am ready to start.
  • This company measures success on customer satisfaction.  The emphasis of financial reward is secondary to “wowing” the customer.
  • Zappos does use social media.  They have a CEO Blog, Twitter accounts – etc, etc.  However their primary contact with their customer is through (brace yourself) the good, old fashioned TELEPHONE.  They want the direct contact. That means they favor and seek for the method that will allow them a direct interaction their customer.  Get this – their goal is to make the customer happy. 

Wow. 

I wish my cell phone company, Cable Company, insurance company (well I could go on and on here) would adopt that same policy.

3 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

3 responses to “Zappos!

  1. Alicia, I had such a great time chatting with your class. Y’all had great questions and suggestions. And, definitely check out http://about.zappos.com/jobs and be in touch… we’re always looking for people with passion like yours! And, you might want to send this link to your phone/cable/insurance/on-and-on company: http://zapposinsights.com =P

  2. Tell you what Alicia, you bring your nerf dart gun to class, I’ll bring mine. We can wage a war… a relatively non-violent one at that.

    It was definitely an insightful discussion with Thomas.

  3. Pingback: Got Culture? « This Ordinary Citizen

Leave a Reply

