The homework of the child comes before that of the parent

As I sit here today, I have made the realization that I sacrifice my own education for that of my son’s.  It seems that school activities take me away often during the day, whether it be a field trip or helping out in class or at the library I love to be at his school.  This takes me away from home where I typically do school work. 

So then I pick him up in the afternoon, we work on his homework together I make a quick dinner and clean up before I am off to my class. 

Doesn’t leave a whole lot of time left for school work during the week.  Good thing there is only one week left of school – for both of us!

🙂

Yay summer.

2 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

2 responses to “The homework of the child comes before that of the parent

  1. Melissa

    Amen Alicia! I will miss the days where field trips and parties are no longer the cool or allowed thing for us to join. I will face this next year when Cait joins the ranks of middle schoolers. I have not had one moment to breath this week and a good part of last week. Literally sat dowm a moment ago after stuffing 21 goody bags for Cait’s class party. I enjoy it immensely as do you. We have to soak it in because they grow up in the blink of an eye. Two nights ago I came downstairs after tucking the kids in and not long after Jake came down begging for mommy to come up with him for a mere 5 minutes. I declined at first then thought…ya know, just around the corner will be the day that he’ll go up and take care of everything without me and I’ll wish I could get those five minutes back. I got up and went to see my guy….for 10 minutes!!!!

    I have been enjoying the journey you’re on and have truly loved your recents updates. Thank you for the laughter, tears and joy you share….

  2. Oh Melissa, don’t I know what you are talking about. From time to time after I read the bedtime story and shut off the light, Drew will quietly ask: “Will you ‘way’ (lay) with me for a few minutes” Some nights it is hard to say yes with so many chores still nagging me. But I almost always do and I NEVER regret it.

Leave a Reply

