The time is ripe to go back to school

I met with Elaine Houston and much to my disappointment Oprah Winfrey has not yet called.  Nor has Ellen DeGeneres.  I keep checking the dial tone on my phone to make sure it hasn’t malfunctioned.

Why aren’t they calling?  😉

I really don’t know what is next to be honest.  I am glad to have found a passion, even if it was so late in my life.  I want to be an advocate for the adult learner.  As the over thirty crowd find themselves back at school we will all start to witness what has already started to occur – the average age of a “traditional student” will become older.  The age demographic will be much more blended.  Our nation is depressed.  The number of Americans who are still without work are alarmingly high. 

It is scary for people without degrees.  Corporate America has a prejudice against them.  As a former HR professional for a global company – I know it firsthand.  Adults without college degrees know how to survive.  These are the individuals doing the real work, the hard work and never get compensated nearly enough for it.  These are the people that can budget, raise a family on a shoestring and juggle a checkbook that may often be balanced with red ink.  Yes, they are scrappy.   They know how to survive, but rarely can thrive.  I know.  Personally.

Now it is time to develop a movement.  To get every person who is unhappy with their job, sick of being mistreated by their bosses, sitting at home unemployed or just simply bored to go back to school.  That is what my book is about.  My book is only the beginning.  The beginning of awareness, what comes next is the creation of national organization that supports adult learning, and a change in the way the colleges recruit and support adult students.  

This is a movement that is about to happen whether or not you and I are a part of it. Adults are flocking back to school regardless of their age to improve their lives and the lives of their families.  There are many more to come.  Wouldn’t it be exciting to be part of it? 

You may know someone who wants to go back to school.  I see them everywhere – the Clinique counter, the grocery store, the unemployment training office and in the faces of my family and friends.  You may be that person. 

I want to help each of these people. 

So, Oprah and Ellen haven’t called yet.  And I am just kidding you in my delusion that they ever will. We can use social media to our advantage though and spread the word.  If you are thinking of going back to school or know someone who is – then read my sample chapters. 

http://noadultleftbehindsamplechapters.wordpress.com/

Pass it to someone who is considering going to college.  Give me some HONEST feedback.  I want to get it just right so I can really help people.

2 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

2 responses to “The time is ripe to go back to school

  1. It is an interesting thing going back to college as an older adult. I myself am 32 and went from being a successful owner of several coffee shops in my 20’s (without a college degree) to no longer having my coffee shops for various reasons and finding myself going back to college to get a degree. I am about to enter my first semester in college since the late 90’s and it is a huge mind trip. Its a new adventure in life and it took me a long time and allot of soul searching to not just figure out WHAT i wanted to go back to school for but to actually have the guts to do it. Im excited about going back to college now,and college was something i was not excited about when i was just out of high school way back when. Great blog keep it up.

    • This is a great treat! Thank you for finding and commenting on my blog. Your story is not so different than many other American’s right now. The recession has hit so many of us and now we are looking to update our skills while we wait for the job market to rebound. I applaud your tenacity. I hope that you will share stories about your journey as you proceed.

Leave a Reply

