Elaine Houston Arrives

Elaine Houston made an appointment to come to my house last Wednesday. I can’t believe it was only one week ago today. She is prettier in person and taller too. It was so intimidating to have her right here in my computer room. She had a really nice fellow who was her camera man to shoot the interview. I have a new respect for the job of a camera man, seeing as I still fumble through the most basic of tasks with camera equipment. I watched him in awe that he could handle this equipment with a grace that I will never possess.

Even though I spent the rest of the afternoon wishing I had answered some of the questions differently, the interview all and all was exciting. I mean, I got to meet Elaine Houston. Too cool. Elaine sent a different camera crew to my school that night to take some “b – roll” which is some background footage that will roll when Elaine is narrating the story. I didn’t know this ahead of time. I must be a serious disappointment to my professor.  My professor was really cool about all of this and had not problem letting the camera crew in his class to do this. As coincidence would have it, my professor worked with these guys for most of his career. It was like a reunion for them. All of it was a really great experience. It was an honor to be featured on their news program.

It is my deep unyielding hope that some publisher or literary agent will come across this and decide (as I did many years ago) that the world simply cannot live another day without my book. I believe in the book, and I believe in the need for it. I hope others will one day too.

If you have ever been on TV, then you may know the horror of seeing yourself. Wishing that you said something differently, becoming annoyed with the fact that all of your “cute” idiosyncrasies were, in fact captured on camera for the world to see and really aren’t all that cute. Despite all of this, WNYT did an amazing job of editing and pulling it all together.

Here’s the clip: http://wnyt.com/article/stories/S1589779.shtml?cat=11883

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

4 responses to “Elaine Houston Arrives

  1. Holly Traver

    I watched the clip–Alicia, you did awesome!

  2. Kim

    You looked beautiful dear. I look up to you, always striving for more. 😉

Leave a Reply

