Genuine gratitude for men braver than me

This is Memorial Day weekend.  It is a time to give thanks to all of the soldiers who have served honorably, who have passed.  I am grateful for the liberties they have provided to us.  In my opinion it is also a time to think of those who are uncomfortably overseas as I write this.  Two very dear friends of mine are in Afghanistan at this very moment.   I love them deeply.  I spent last Memorial Day with them by a campfire and they will be missed this year.  I will be thinking of them, missing them and giving thanks to them this weekend just as I do every day.

This was a good day for me to reflect on gratitude.  In my darkest hour, I can always find strength in gratitude.  My problems seem insurmountable  and my heart is heavy with matters that are just outside of my control right now.  Somehow, when I think of our soldiers, their bravery gives me strength to face whatever life throws my way.  I am grateful for that.  I am grateful for them.

I am grateful for my son and most of all, today and every day I am incredibly grateful for my amazing husband who is MY brave soldier. 

Nothing will ever change that.

May your holiday weekend be filled with wonderful memories and gratitude all your own.

1 Comment

Filed under adult education, No Adult Left Behind

One response to “Genuine gratitude for men braver than me

  1. Dierdre

    Ali – your blogs always inspire me! Thank you for your heartfelt tribute to the brave men (and WOMEN!) who sacrifice so much to provide better lives, liberties and freedom for people all over the world, not just here in the United States. I was also touched by your tribute to Andy. I think we all take for granted our police and don’t do or say nearly enough to let them know how much we appreciate the risks they take to keep our communities safe.

    God bless our troops and God bless our Police forces!

Leave a Reply

