My Temporary Ugg Insanity

So I am officially back in the swing of my routine.  Whatever that means.  There is something frantic about me most days.  It is such a blessing is that the dress code is quite relaxed.  This makes choosing clothing much easier.  I have worn jeans every day.  My business attire and “business casual” attire sits in my closet.  That’s fine.  The object is to blend in here, as best I possibly can.

A large part of the young college population wear pajamas around campus.  Typically, I see the pajamas with a pair of Ugg boots, but it isn’t entirely out of the realm of possibility to see a person wearing their slippers with their PJ’s.  Seriously.

I wonder if there was ever a time when I felt comfortable enough to wear PJ’s to school. 

I wonder if I stand out as much as I think I do. 

I don’t think I would be exaggerating when I say that about 80% of the female population at my college wears Uggs.  I used to think they were UGGly. 

I don’t know if it is because I am seeing them so much or if it is my desire to fit in here, but I decided I wanted a pair. 

So I went on e-bay and found a brand new super cool pair of uggs that were in my size.  My size is a bit hard to find, so I felt fortunate.  These were not the UGGly kind – these were cool.  I actually bid on these.  For four days I dreamed about how cool it would be to wear them.

They sold for $95.00.  And not to me.  Thankfully.  I bought groceries instead.  Probably the better choice.  😉

About a week later the fad faded on me.  It also started getting warmer.  Now everyone is wearing flip-flops.   In the end I was glad it all worked out.

Image taken from Google Images  

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

4 responses to “My Temporary Ugg Insanity

  1. Dierdre

    LOL! I love this posting! Mostly because I agree Uggs are UGGly, but also because I love the fact that you can buy at least 6 great pairs of flip flops for the price of one pair of Uggs!

  2. Bonnie

    Ali,
    Uggs are AWESOME! The most comfortable footwear on the planet. I still buy a new pair every year. I usual go from Uggs to flip flops. But not in HK, you usually only get to wear Uggs for a few weeks in winter. Good on ya! There is always next year when they are still wearing them. 🙂

    • Bonnie,

      You are right I still have next year to fit in with the cool kids. So nice to hear from you. Glad to know that I have a follower all the way from HONG KONG! How cool is that?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

