The Arizona Hangover

Coming home after a vacation is analogous to hangover.  While you were having fun, you gave little thought of tomorrow.  Then the morning comes and while you are reaching for the aspirin and the Visine, you regret the spirits of the night before.

The time change is only fun when you gain time.  Not when you lose it.  Thus, on the day we left we were on Arizona time all day and got in too late at night to feel rested the next day.  For two days, my house looked like the aftermath of a hurricane sight. Maria (my imaginary maid) has inconveniently taken a sabbatical.  My house is less welcoming to me when it is a disaster.  For days, I had a total disinterest in tidying it up.

It took me all weekend to get that motivation.

So let’s assess the damage of the Arizona hangover:

  • An unkempt house.  An unkempt mom / wife.  All weekend, I looked worse than my living room, which by the way was decorated in luggage that has been opened and rummaged through in a fitful attempt to fish out needed items.  I had to laugh when I thought of my last post.  It was all nostalgic about my desire to return home. 
  • Neglected pets. I think one or both of the hermit crabs did not fare well being on their own for a week.  I am contemplating on whether to conduct a private investigation and subsequent funeral when my son is at school.  The last hermit crab funeral was awful.  I was not ready to face the questions about heaven and God again today.  Maybe he’ll just forget about his little shelled pets. 

Yeah, right.

  • A weary child. For two days, son came home with bloodshot eyes, a head he couldn’t hold upright and a wad of homework that made my stomach flip.  It was all due today.  All of my neglected housework and his schoolwork had to be immediately attended to.  The weekend was a blast. 
  • Mail, mail, mail.  Bills, bills, bills.

So I am finally starting to feel a bit better.  At least his homework is done and my living room is… well livable again.  

Next task for me is to just get caught up on the bills today, go to class and then make a list of all the things I need to do for my school to get myself back on track.  Sounds lovely.

I really adjusted gracefully to the return home.  Can’t you tell?

Despite the Arizona hangover, it was still so worth it.

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

4 responses to “The Arizona Hangover

  1. Tina

    U have hermit crab sitters you know….

    • Yes, I should really employ a better sitter than a light and a “vacation” feeding tablet. Here is the miracle – they are BOTH still alive. And doing very well actually. Apparently they thrive in a neglected state. I’ll remember your offer – thanks Tina!

  2. Might have to borrow your imaginary maid… my house could use it.

  3. Yes, you really should. It is a great way to rid stress – blame the imaginary maid.

Leave a Reply

