Not blogging as a student this week

I have to be honest with you.  I have no real intentions of doing anything this week that will help me with my studies.

I am in Arizona for the first time in my life and well, I am enjoying it. 

I have made my peace with it and so must you.    If you are looking for a blog about any scholastic endeavors – check back next week when I am back to the grind and am suicidal for having neglected my studies.  I may need your support.

For this week, I am going to blog about my trip because so far it is pretty cool. 

We arrived on Wednesday.  It was basically a lost day.  That is because I have a problem flying.  My ears bother me and I have yet to fly without having a spastic crying fit because of the intense pain in my ears that occurs during the decent.  It is great fun to be the circus freak of the airliner. The way I cope with this is a dedicated and diligent attention to drinking.  So the drinking coupled with the time change made me quite pooped when we got here.  No amount of awe for my surroundings could chase away the fatigue. My son and I were asleep before 7:00 local time. 

A friend of mine told me that landing in Arizona would feel a lot like landing on the moon.  Boy was she right.  The landscape is so incredibly different what I am used to in the lush, green, upstate New York.  It is really cool though.  Everything is so pretty in the various shades of brown, gray and intense red, broken up by highways, cactuses and palm trees. 

We are staying with my in-laws.  Actually, they are the ones that paid for us to come here which, I think was really pretty awesome of them.  They have a pool.  It has been 90 degrees each day since we got here.  The pool is about 69 degrees.  They say it is too cold to swim.  They are trying to explain this to my 5-year-old son.  Good luck.  I can’t quite understand it myself.  I think the desert sun has fried their sense of temperature.  Dry heat – my hind foot.  90 degrees is 90 degrees and I don’t care if you are in NY or on the moon that means pool time. 

I will work them down.  We didn’t bring out swim trunks on a trip for thousands of miles without giving them what they came for.  If we are rushed to the emergency room for 90 degree hypothermia I will definitely blog about it.  I plan to endeavor this treacherous risk very soon. 

I love to live on the edge – but not more than I love to do the opposite of what my elders tell me to do.  Some things never change.

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

4 responses to “Not blogging as a student this week

  1. Beverly

    90 degrees and it’s to cold for swimming? say what! , and if you do go swimming, remember you can’t eat for at least an half an hour after you come out of the pool.Have fun!

  2. Yes, it is crazy! But we wore them down. We ended up in the pool. It was fabulous. Remember when we would tan for hours – you know before we knew about skin cancer?

  3. My wife says that the water in NY lakes probably never exceeds 69 degrees. Swim for it!

  4. You guys are absolutely right. We sure did. It felt great. I am a rebel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

