Garage to Glory part II

I have been so wrapped up in things in my personal life (a sick child, the desperado plunge in the local elementary school, living outside of the law.. just to name a few) that I never did follow-up about my experience with Garage to Glory.

Last Friday, The Times Union and The College of Saint Rose collaborated to put together a contest and a live show.  The intention is to inspire local musical talent to take part in a competition where the winner will receive a free music video and a music CD that will be produced by The College of Saint Rose. 

As you may know, I am taking a Video Class at the college and participating in the production of this show satisfies a class requirement for our grade.  If you have followed along, then you know that this class is not a traditional class.  Which is awesome for me.  I am not a traditional student.  Fits like a glove.  In the TV studio we learn more just doing it than we would reading a text. 

There were two classes that would make up the “crew” for this live show.  Our professor, who has a ton of previous experience in television, is our supervisor.  He never acts like a supervisor in the way that I am used to.  He is tough, but he really gives us space to make our own mistakes and learn on our own.  We had run through a series of practices to set up and break down the equipment prior to the night of the show.  We did all the troubleshooting the week before the class. 

There was so much to do and so many wires.  You could get dizzy thinking about it all.  My professor was so clever in the way that he assigned our roles.   He made sure we could do it.  Each of us had a very defined role.  We did not deviate.  We did exactly what we were told and we stayed at our post until we were relieved. 

We were all so nervous that we were like a bunch of grasshoppers confined to a mayonnaise jar.  I couldn’t understand why our professor wasn’t nervous.  When I asked him he said this:  “I covered 9/11.  This is child’s play.”

He sure is right about that.

Now, if you watched the show you probably noticed it wasn’t as smooth as a live version of American Idol.  However, I thought we did a good job.

I was amazed at my professor’s composure; I was impressed with Dan Fogerty’s ability to host the entire show after being asked to do so at the very last minute and I was impressed with Dana’s ability to interview the musicians on the fly.  But what I really loved was the way that everyone really took their jobs so seriously and how we worked so well together.  It was great fun and I was proud to be a part of it. 

Sadly, I didn’t get to hear a lick of the music that was being played.  We all had headphones on – so we could only hear ourselves speaking to each other.  We didn’t want to miss a cue.  However, I send hearty congratulations to the winner “Try Sarah Topps”.  I look forward to working with these guys in the future when we shoot their music video.

Let’s hope that Garage to Glory becomes an annual event!

Leave a comment

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

Leave a Reply

