A quick catnap in the student center

My son is feeling better, but it has been a sketchy couple of nights. We are all a little under the weather because of lack of sleep and the lousy weather outside. Today is my long day at school. It is always hard to get out of bed, but for some reason today the gravity under my bed was extra strong. The covers were so soft, so heavy. So I went back to bed for “just a moment”. I fell back into a deep sleep with a pleasant dream.

My son woke me up 15 minutes later and wanted to snuggle in our bed. But we were already late! I had to take a speed shower and rush him right through his breakfast. Not to mention it is my week to carpool so I had to leave early to pick up the twins and bring them all to Kindergarten. Usually, this type of frenzy energizes me. Not today. The rain really started coming down about 10 minutes before I had to leave and made everything a mess. I leave with only a second to spare when I realize it is garbage day. So I muck through the cold puddled grass to drag the cans out. Now my feet are wet. This entire time, I am fantasizing about getting back into my warm bed later tonight. It is 7:55am and that is all I can think about.

It is going to be a long day.

By the time I get to school, I am even more wet than I was this morning because I just had to cross campus in a monsoon. Brrr..

I am heading to the student center to see if I can put my head down for just a moment. I see students sleeping in here all the time, but they are 18 and cute and can get away with it. Today I don’t care. I should be doing research for my paper. I should be reading chapter 10 for Crisis Management. I should be doing research for my paper in Media Ethics. I should be reading the fifteen chapters in that class that I got behind on. But for now, I am not going to. I am going to put my head down for a moment.

If I wake up in a pool of my own drool with a print of the table on my face after my snore wakes me up, I will definitely blog about it tomorrow.

4 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

4 responses to “A quick catnap in the student center

  1. Melissa

    Oh Alicia, today I read this and just want to give you a hug so you can rest your head on my shoulder…but…you might fall asleep! Thank you for injecting humor into the real issues that surround your journey of being in school, being a mom, running a household…well you get it because you live it. Tomorrow is another day and I look forward to another blog!!!

  2. Hi there Melissa! Well we all have days like these don’t we? It doesn’t matter if we are a student or a worker or just a professional cheese doodle eater. Some days, it is just hard to get out of bed. I am taking vitamins and will be over it by the ‘morrow, matey! Thanks for thinking of me.

  3. Dierdre

    LOL!! One of your best posts yet! If only I could put my head down on my desk and wake up in a puddle of my own drool! Oh, to be back in school again! I am officially jealous!

  4. Oh but you could Diedre. There is always lunch time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

