I am my own worst enemy

I am a master procrastinator.  I am not proud of this.  I need therapy.  I need swat team of therapists to help me with this condition.  The first step is admission so I am told.  Admission to the mental health facility, that is. 

Bud ump… ching!

It took me (without a lick of exaggeration) 1 week and twenty minutes to finally fill out that FAFSA.

In the one week period, I did everything else.  Checked Facebook, balanced my check book, made that root canal appointment and finally when I found myself on my hands and knees washing my floor did it occur to me that I may be going too far in trying to avoid the FAFSA. 

I found my tax forms and got to work.  Twenty minutes later I was done.  They make this thing so intuitive and idiot proof that it actually was quite easy.

If there is a lesson to be learned here about how it takes longer to procrastinate than it does to actually do the task, it will be lost on me.  No matter how I vow to change my ways I will do the same thing next year when it is time to fill it out again.

2 Comments

Filed under adult education, Alicia Legg, Continuing Education, No Adult Left Behind

2 responses to “I am my own worst enemy

  1. Melissa

    This has to be one of my favorite posts. I think it’s wonderful that you make it ok to have “conditions”. I have OCD about some things like organized shelves, yet, you may find some crud, yes I said crud, in the nooks and crannies of my kitchen floor. I love it that you share this with us and you are helping others while hopefully helping yourself! I LOVE IT!!!! Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

